Men At Work (Europe 2019)

by Colin Hay, November 18, 2018

MEN AT WORK PERSONAL MESSAGE

Going back a few months, I had the privilege of touring Europe as part of Ringo’s All Starr Band, during the Northern Hemisphere summer. Every night we would play each other’s hits, and it was most enjoyable. The audience’s appetite for those old tunes is insatiable. I started to wonder about the feasibility of mounting a European tour with my band to play primarily those dear old songs. For the last three decades, I have spent the bulk of my time, making records, and touring the US, building an audience playing my solo music. It seems to have built up a head of steam, and I shall continue to do this till I drop most likely, as I find it rewarding, nourishing, and connecting.

But I know how much a lot of fans love the old Men At Work hits, and I do enjoy playing them. In short, that’s what I’m going to do in the summer of 2019. I’ve decided to take on a short tour in Europe playing the Men At Work material. The band will consist of myself, and my group of amazing LA based musicians, whom I’ve worked with over the last few years. The set list obviously will feature all the known and even lesser known Men At Work songs, perhaps with a couple of later songs thrown in, but make no mistake, it will be a Men At Work show, billed as such so that the people know they will be coming to hear a Men At Work set list!

I will miss my friend Greg Ham, and indeed we toured together as Men At Work in the latter half of the ’90s into the 2000s. He is gone but never forgotten, and his contribution to the sound and personality of the band, is forever. I loved being in Men At Work. I had a plan. I loved writing those songs, and I am in awe of what we managed to achieve in such a short time. It was powerful, though short lived.

So, I’m going to stage a Men At Work tour in Europe for a few weeks next summer, and see what happens. Hope to see you then!

 

DATE CITY VENUE TICKETS
Thu Jun 20 UK / Manchester Academy 2
Fri Jun 21 UK / London Shepherds Bush Empire
Sun Jun 23 The Netherlands / Amsterdam Q Factory Buy
Mon Jun 24 Germany / Hamburg Grosse Freiheit Buy
Tue Jun 25 Denmark / Arhus Train Buy
Wed Jun 26 Norway / Oslo Rockefeller Buy
Fri Jun 28 Sweden / Gothenburg Pustervik Buy
Sat Jun 29 Sweden / Malmo KB Buy
Sun Jun 30 Denmark / Copenhagen Amager Bio Buy
Wed Jul 3 Germany / Cologne E-Werk Buy
Thu Jul 4 Germany / Berlin Huxleys Buy
Sat Jul 6 Germany / Leipzig Parkbühne Buy
Sun Jul 7 Germany / Hannover Capitol Buy
Mon Jul 8 Germany / Munich Muffathale Buy
Tue Jul 9 Germany / Stuttgart Wizemann Buy
Wed Jul 10 Italy / Milan Teatro Dal Verme

Men At Work Discography